Dorothy D. Stuck

Dorothy Davis Stuck was born in Gravette, Benton County, Arkansas, on February 5, 1921. She was raised in Muskogee, Oklahoma.

Stuck earned her B.A. in history from the University of Arkansas in 1943 and began teaching history in Marked Tree, Arkansas. In 1950 she and her husband, Howard Stuck, assumed ownership and management of three east Arkansas newspapers - the Marked Tree Tribune, the Lepanto News Record and the Truman Democrat. She served as editor of the Tribune and received the Press Woman of the Year award in 1964 and 1969.  She became a charter member of the Arkansas Press Women and later served as president. In 1967 she was appointed to the Arkansas Constitutional Revision Study Commission by Governor Winthrop Rockefeller, and in 1968 she was elected to the Arkansas Constitutional Convention where she was the only woman to chair a major committee, the Suffrage and Election Committee. In 1970 Stuck was named regional director of the US Office for Civil Rights, Department of Health, Education and Welfare for the five-state Dallas Region with responsibility for implementing the desegregation of public schools, health institutions, and institutions of higher learning. For her work, she received HEW’s highest award, the Distinguished Service Award, in 1974. While in Dallas, she was the first woman to chair the Dallas-Fort Worth Executive Board and was named one of Dallas’ Top Ten Women News-Shapers.

Upon her return to Arkansas, Stuck founded Stuck and Snow Resultants with Nan Snow in 1981 and the Wilowe Institute in 1983. She was a founding board member of the Southern Development Bancorporation. Stuck was awarded the Distinguished Alumni award by the University of Arkansas in 2008. She was inducted into the Arkansas Women’s Hall of Fame in 2017.

Transcript pending

About the Pryor Center | Donate